'Not From Here,' stories by Nathan Deuel

Denver rag to hire pot critic? Now I'm officially homesick

WAMP supporters march to Los Angeles City Hall

Is the next weed wordsmith pictured here? (Image via Wikipedia)

Here’s a story that smacked me squarely in the face with the fact that I live in Saudi Arabia: Denver’s alternative weekly is accepting job applications for a freelance pot critic.

No kidding: The mile-high city is now home to as many as 100 medical marijuana dispensaries, the New York Times reports in its piece, and the Denver paper is eager to help consumers pick the best ones.

The idea is not to assess the green stuff itself, but to review the dispensaries that have sprouted like, um, weeds in Denver this year.

“We want to see what kind of place it is, how well they care for you and also how sketchy the place is,” said Patricia Calhoun, editor of Westword. “Do they actually look at your medical marijuana card? Do they let you slip some cash under the counter and bypass the rules?”

The applications, evidently, are totally wicked, bro.

Last week, the paper published a call for a regular freelance reviewer with a real, doctor-certified medical need — asking each candidate to send a résumé and an essay on “What Marijuana Means to Me” — and received several dozen applications within a few days.

“Every time an application comes in, it’s like opening a little birthday present, because most of them are quite hilarious,” Ms. Calhoun said.

So why am I so homesick? Not for the product on offer and not for the job, as fun as it might be. I miss the crazy brew of highs and lows that come with a culture like America’s. The needle just doesn’t bounce as much here in the big desert, where we’re all stone-cold sober.

via Wanted for the Denver Newspaper Westword – A Marijuana Critic – NYTimes.com.

Filed under: Homesick, Journalism, Medical marijuana, Saudi Arabia, , , , , ,

3 Responses

  1. iskid2astop says:

    Nathan,
    Totally unrelated to your post, what was Deep Springs like? I read the Rolling Stone article (or perhaps it was Vanity Fair). Anyway, I think the idea is brilliant. I’d love to hear what an alum thinks.

    • Nathan Deuel says:

      Deep Springs was every bit as good as it sounds. Are you or someone you know considering attending? I can’t say enough about what a great experience it was and the degree to which I’m influenced by my time there, every day.

  2. richawn says:

    [sample cover letter for position]

    Dear Westword,

    I’m totally knowledgeable about pot. I smoke it pretty much once hourly. Like, how most people drink coffee, I take a bong hit…Sativa mostly.

    The only problem that might get in the way of me pseudo-anonymously reviewing Denver dispensaries is that I can only buy from one grower directly. Not because I’m a pot snob locovore stoner d-bag and not because I wouldn’t be totally siked to move to Denver and get a pot card and have fun publishing ridiculous shit about it but you see, out here in the mild, mild East, pot stores can’t open (yet).

    Weed still puts poor kids in jail and is denied to cancer patients. This grower, the guy I buy from, has cancer and uses the money to pay for his treatment and smokes the pot he grows to relieve the pain and sickness of the treatment.

    So anyway, I’m totally down to review stuff… just first lets wake up the rest of country and make it okay for us to do something that saves our lives.

    Thanks!

    Stoner Bob

Leave a Reply

Pages

@nathandeuel

